Villanova's Jalen Brunson celebrates with his teammates after beating Michigan on Monday night to win the national championship. (AP Photo/David J. Phillip)

With Monday's win against Michigan, Villanova's Jalen Brunson joined a select group of players who have been named The Associated Press men's college basketball player of the year and won the national title in the same season.

This marked the 10th time a player has accomplished that two-step and the first since Kentucky's Anthony Davis in 2012. Duke's Shane Battier (2001) was the only other player to do it since the turn of the century.

The other players to do it are: UCLA's Lew Alcindor (1967 and 1969), UCLA's Bill Walton (1972 and 1973), North Carolina State's David Thompson (1974), Indiana's Scott May (1976) and Duke's Christian Laettner (1992).

Villanova beat Michigan 79-62 on Monday night in San Antonio for the Wildcats' second NCAA title in three seasons.